Chris Bourque is a really good hockey player. He’s also been consistently one of the best Calder Cup Playoff performers in the history of the league. That is why on Sunday afternoon in Providence he became the American Hockey League’s all-time Calder Cup playoff assist leader with 81 helpers.

The record we all thought was originally broken last Sunday became reality when Bourque fed defenseman Madison Bowey a pass in overtime. Bowey sent home a wrister from the point to give Hershey a 3-2 series lead over the Providence Bruins.

Continue reading

Former Bear and AHL MVP Keith Aucoin to Switzerland

On June 14, 2014, in News, by Kyle Mace

Hershey Bears keith aucion-1

Two time Calder Cup champion Keith Aucion is heading overseas. The leading scorer for the Chocolate and White during the 2009-10 campaign has signed a deal with Ambrì-Piotta of the NLA in Switzerland. After spending 13 seasons between the AHL and NHL, Aucion will play in Europe for the first time in his career.

Continue reading

Tagged with:

HERSHEY, PA – Two of the three co-coaches, Ralph Keller (center) and Willie Marshall speak to Doug Yingst at the Hershey Bears Hall of Fame induction ceremony back in December (Kyle Mace – Sweetest Hockey on Earth)

Earlier this morning, the Hershey Bears and Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins announced their rosters for the alumni game on January 19th. Headlined by Bears greats Tim Tookey and Mitch Lamoureux, 21 Bears (with four goalies) are scheduled to play in the game. The list also includes former Bears tough guys Louis Robitaille and Dennis Bonvie (who will be playing for Wilkes-Barre.) Bears greats Ralph Keller, Willie Marshall and Mike Nykoluk will serve as co-coaches for the game.

Continue reading

Hershey Bears Induct First Hall of Fame Class

On December 20, 2012, in News, Photos, by Kyle Mace

HERSHEY, PA – The new Hershey Bears Hall of Fame wall (Kyle Mace – Sweetest Hockey on Earth)

It was only appropriate, that on the 75th anniversary of the first home game in Hershey Bears history, that the first ever Hershey Bears Hall of Fame class was enshrined. Seven men were honored for their accomplishments as players, coaches. builders and a game official.

Continue reading

Hershey Bears Announce 2012 Hall of Fame Class

On October 30, 2012, in News, by Kyle Mace

Tuesday morning, in the latter part of Hurricane Sandy coming through Central PA, the Hershey Bears announced their 2012 Hall of Fame Class. Lloyd S. Blinco, Arthur Fausnacht, Ralph Keller, Willie Marshall, Frank Mathers, Mike Nykoluk, and John B. Sollenberger will all be inducted into the Bears Hall of Fame December 19th, 2012 when the Bears take on the Norfolk Admirals.

Continue reading